Your Councillors

Local Councillors (or Members) are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward they have been elected to.

You can contact your councillors through council engaging with committee meetings, emailing, telephoning or attending one of their regular surgeries.

There are 63 members of the London Borough of Barnet. There are currently 37 Conservatives members, 24 Labour members and 2 Liberal Democrat Members. This means that Barnet is a Conservative controlled Council.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form no later than 28 days following the day of their election, and within 28 days of becoming aware of any change to their interests.

The Mayor of Barnet during 2019-2020 is Councillor Caroline Stock. Her deputy for the year is Councillor Lachhya Bahadur Gurung.

The Leader of the Council is Councillor Daniel Thomas, and Councillor David Longstaff is the Deputy Leader.

You can find out who your ward councillor is by using the Your Councillors by Ward Link below or by entering your postcode here. You can find out more information about your ward by visiting the council's ward directory.

To find your councillor please use the below links: